Camp NaNoWriMo: The July Edition

It’s that time again. The time when I try to write a novel in a month. Okay, so it comes around three times a year. National Novel Writing Month, wherein I strive to write 50,000 words of a novel, comes around every November. In April and July, there’s Camp NaNoWriMo which is a little more laid back. I set my own word count, and I can decide if I’m writing a new novel, adding to something that I already have in the works, or if I want to edit an existing work.

This July, I’ve decided to set a low word count goal of 10,000 words, actually the lowest word count goal you can set. I write on and off, but I’m really striving to get to a point where I write every day. Life tends to get in the way. Honestly, a lot of days, I get in my own way. I find reasons not to write. Like tonight. My nephew was born today. (Yay!) I have been up since 6am which is way out of character for me, and since it’s now after 11pm, I am exhausted. Yet I decided to sit down and write this blog post as my first entry for Camp NaNo July because I can’t start a month of writing every day with a goose egg. Right? That would be a terrible start.

I’m going to try to write a blog post once a week for at least this month. I will count those words toward my 10,000 goal because I’d like to do better about not neglecting the blog. Primarily though, I’ll be adding words to my Huntington-based zombie novel. This novel is my book baby, and it has a long way to go. I’ve let it sit on the shelf for a while. I need to write the final act and fill in some blanks along the way. I have my work cut out for me.

Hi ho, hi ho…it’s off to virtual writing camp I go…

Leave a Reply

