Camp NaNoWriMo, April 2015: Week 1

Goal Word Count: 10,000
Current Word Count: 3,955

I’m a week into the current Camp NaNoWriMo session, so I thought I’d stop in with an update. I have managed to write every day for seven days straight. This blog will actually count toward today’s word count, so I guess I can say I’ve written for eight days straight.

My original plan for April was to write a different short story every day. I tried this in March, and when I was writing every day, it worked out well. I even planned ahead for April by using my Pinterest to make a whole board of writing prompts in case I needed them. I had set some writing prompts aside to use in March too, but I’ve found that writing begats writing. I used one prompt to get me started in March, but then the ideas came from there. So far, I haven’t used them at all in April, but I know they’re there. You know, in case this happens….

Oh, New Girl's Nick Miller! My spirit animal

Oh, New Girl’s Nick Miller! My spirit animal

Friday, I randomly wrote about a couple who are driving each other crazy. It’s kind of a melancholy piece. I’ve continued to write about this couple every day since Friday. Next I wrote about the day they met, and then I devoted three days to writing their first date. I’m not sure what happens next with them, if anything. I may put them on the back burner and go back to my random short stories. I’ll let them simmer a bit and see what happens.

Incidentally, I’m pretty sure they went on my dream first date, and I’m kind of jealous. I guess it makes sense that if I’m writing about a happy first date that some of what I like would work its way in there.

Ways to Woo the Writer, Loner, Rebel:
1. Cook for her. In this case, it was pasta.
2. Give her wine. I’m not a big drinker, but we’re having pasta. I’ll have a glass or two.
3. Listen to Otis Redding records

That’s not asking too much is it?

Leave a Reply

