So where were we?

I think when we left off, Wicked Words, my writing group anthology was coming out in September. It was a weird time for me, ecstatic over the release of our book, but simultaneously dealing with the death of my maternal grandfather.  My pawpaw Elton battled cancer for sixteen years, and he was ready to go. I could never quite be ready, but I made it through.

October brought about my first book signing as a contributing author. I made arrangements to get off work early, bought candy, and invited friends to come out to Empire Books at Pullman Square in Huntington, West Virginia. All day at work, I was buzzing on excitement, and it wasn’t until I got to the bookstore that the nerves kicked in. I was more nervous seeing familiar faces in the crowd than strangers. I guess it’s the fear of being judged by people you’ll see again rather than people you’ll probably never see again. Here are some pictures from that night:

The flyer

The flyer

The Writer. Loner. Rebel.

The Writer. Loner. Rebel.

The Wicked Wordsmiths of the West

The Wicked Wordsmiths of the West

Before I knew it, the holidays rolled around. I never really understood why people would say “Ugh, the holidays again! It’s so stressful…” Now that my day job is with a large online retailer, I see where the stress comes in. To put it simply, I’ve been in a funk. I come home from work and go to bed until it’s time to go to work again. On my two days off, I spend time with family, namely that adorable not-quite-two year old niece of mine, and I binge watch Netflix and Hulu. That doesn’t leave a lot of time for writing. It fell by the wayside.

The Wordsmiths are planning the next anthology. I have three pieces I’m working on for it. It’s been slow going and difficult. Time will tell if all three pieces ever actually see the light of day. The Wordsmiths are also keeping up a “magic spreadsheet” to encourage daily writing. I randomly decided in March that I was going to start participating, and I would write every day in March. I wrote every day for about the first two-thirds of the month. Then the funk kicked in.

It’s officially forty-eight minutes into April 2015. I’ve signed up for Camp NaNoWriMo, and I’ve committed to 10,000 words in the month of April. The goal is to recreate the goal from March: write at least a short story of at least 250 words every day. I got a lot farther in March than I really thought I could, so I have high hopes that I’ll make it in April.

Stay tuned for more news about the upcoming anthology! In the meantime, I got myself some writerly business cards. I’m so set for the next book signing!

10153697_377391995763299_2286447285478041870_n

Leave a Reply

